Bulletin: Why stay silent?

Ladies and gentlemen, you know as well as I do that I want young people to get involved in the arts. That’s why Puccini’s Chronicles exists- as stated in our code of honor, it strives to promote visual and performing arts at all levels. But I cannot fairly do this unless I believe the arts community to be a safe and supportive one for all who choose to be part of it.

On the heels of the news flash I read today, I’m not going to go into much detail; I won’t even be naming names. But I will say that if you plan to attend a performance of a long-running Broadway show in the near future, select carefully. Because if you pick the wrong one, you may in fact be perpetuating an instance in which the arts world was NOT a safe place for one of its most vulnerable members. Do your own research if you must find out what happened; I believe in forgiveness, which is why I’m keeping things general here. But I also believe in exercising caution- and remembering that we as artists have a responsibility to look out for our colleagues, especially in compromising situations.

Leave a Reply

