Remember that day I was Cinderella? Oh yes.

March 30th was nothing short of an enchanted evening. I’d been looking forward to it for weeks; when I finally awoke that morning, I dressed my best. I planned to wear my shirt with the blue butterflies on it, because then the whole thing became symbolic as heck. And (although I’d regret it later) I put on my denim-colored high heels, my glass slippers; my pumpkin coach was an express bus bound for NYC. Where was I headed?

When I got to the theatre, I was immediately put to work. There was much preparation to be done before the show. After completing some preliminary intern tasks, I was told that I’d be the director’s go-to girl for the remainder of the day. I transported music stands, made copies of sheet music, fetched people, and basically didn’t stop moving for hours. This is where the heels come in; by the end of it all, my feet hurt really badly- but it was so worth it. I witnessed performing arts legends work their magic up close and personal…I even got to hug a few of them! It was truly a priceless experience, and I can only hope that I helped it to be just as terrific for them.

It was just a blessing to be part of something that meant so much to the York Theatre and to thespians across the city. I laughed, I cried, I cheered, and I didn’t want it to end. Alas, “midnight” (re: 10pm) inevitably arrived, and soon I was bound for my everyday life once more…that is, until the next royal ball rolls around.

Leave a Reply

