Theatre

Tonys Countdown: The Best Tony-Winning Musical Performances of the Last 10 Years

Hey everyone! Happy Tony Week! To kick things off, I’m going to share with you my favorite Tony-winning performances of the past decade. There will actually be six: the top 5, and one runner-up. Each notch on the list will be accompanied by a video of that performance and the ever-present encouragement to join in the discussion!

Let’s get started! The Puccini’s Chronicles Runner-Up is…drum roll please…

PAULO SZOT (South Pacific, 2008)

I had the pleasure of seeing this acclaimed revival of South Pacific with my high school drama club. It was the second Broadway show (after Wicked in the 8th grade) that I clearly remember. Yes, I clearly remember the beautiful Rodgers and Hammerstein score. Yes, I remember the unforgettable morals that the story provides. And yes, I can even now picture the incredible performance baritone Paulo Szot gave as the leading man. Prior to this show, Szot had only performed in opera, and so the character of Emile Debecque marked his Broadway debut. To me, he had the whole package- good looks, a glorious voice for the ballads, and the perfect blend of comic moments and impassioned heart that the role calls for. I was so happy that he won the award, and I’d later see him at the Metropolitan Opera in Manon.

Leave a Reply

