Spotlight: Happy 5th Anniversary to TEENAGE DREAM

Okay folks, I need to make a confession. Despite my love of the “classic” sound and adherence to a strict diet of no EDM, I’m not without my guilty pleasures. And I have to say that a massively musical guilty pleasure of mine is the second studio album by Katy Perry, Teenage Dream. This sparkling pop confection was released today, five years ago. Wow! At that point in time, I WAS a teenager, so the energy-infused jams and fun themes particularly spoke to me. But what I like most about the record, to this day, is its positive vibes. I hear the title number and dream of the adrenaline rush that comes with love. I hear “The One That Got Away” and smile as I remember my own experience with the song. And, of course, “Firework” inspires me to have confidence and never give up on myself. Tastes and trends will come and go, but some things just click forever. Teenage Dream continues to be one of my greatest sources of nostalgia. Happy 5th Anniversary!

1280420102katyperry_teenagedreamcover-600x600

What is your favorite song from this CD? Are there any albums in your collection that take you back to a special time in your life? Share in the comments!

Leave a Reply

