Portrait of the Artist as a Young Shepherd

Today for you, I have an Appreciation Post that is very near and dear to my geeky self. Happy belated holidays, by the way…and on Christmas, one of my gifts was a pre-order for the upcoming video game Fire Emblem Birthright. I dove into the last installment in this series, Awakening, over the course of this year and let me tell you: it was insanely good. So good, in fact, that I would easily consider it one of the greatest games I have ever played. Everything about the piece, from the graphics to the story to the gameplay, was stunningly done. I even found myself sobbing at more than one point- it was so moving and perfectly balanced between those moments and moments of pure humor. In the upcoming entry to the Fire Emblem series, we’ll actually find three stories in one- that is, three complementary games that center around the same conflict but from different points of view. There’s BirthrightConquest, and Revelations. I chose to get the first one, although a friend of mine bought the Special Edition that comes with all three. (What a showoff.)

Anyway, to celebrate the imminent arrival of the next chapter in the Fire Emblem saga, I’m presenting some of my favorite pieces of character art from Awakening. You may notice that all of my picks are females, but that is intentional; yet another great thing about this series is its abundance of kick-butt lady fighters. (All images are from Nintendo’s website.)

chara27This is Say’ri, a sword-wielding princess.

chara37Meet Cherche, a courageous Wyvern rider.

chara24Here is Anna, a tricky merchant.

chara22This is Cordelia, an expert Pegasus trainer.

chara26And here’s Tiki, who can turn into a dragon.

Leave a Reply

