The first poem I ever wrote, 7th grade: “Impossible”

by Amanda DeLalla

Poems are pleasantly strange things

Like daffodil gardens and emerald rings

1000 words, 100 rhymes

I think poetry is just fine.

There’s just one problem, don’t you see?

A poem will never come to me.

I’m at my desk, pen in hand

But all the words remain buried in the sand.

Poems are like a starry night

Lovely, but creating one is an impossible plight

The music never reaches my ears.

The door won’t open for another 10 years!

Poems can be good as glory.

But nonetheless, this is my story.

After thinking awhile, here is my bid…

I cannot write a poem- oh wait, I just did!

Leave a Reply

