Music

Id (Mixtape)

To celebrate my acquisition of the new Fire Emblem Fates game last week, I shall be commemorating the occasion with a playlist post. That is, I’m taking characters from the last installment, Awakening, and assigning them popular music or showtune theme songs. Yes, my dear friends, my tastes are eclectic. But the characters of this series are so well-developed and memorable…I’d be remiss if even those of you who don’t play the games didn’t know something about them. I should note that even if you don’t care a fig about Fire Emblem, you should read the rest of this anyway because I like the compilation of music here. So, listen and enjoy!

  1. Anna: “Beautiful, Dirty, Rich” by Lady Gaga
  2. Panne: “Animals” by Maroon 5
  3. Cordelia: “I Don’t Know How to Love Him” from Jesus Christ Superstar
  4. Lucina: “Eyes Open” by Taylor Swift
  5. Noire: “Atlas” by Coldplay
  6. Gaius: “Sugar” by Maroon 5
  7. Tharja: “Paparazzi” by Lady Gaga
  8. Kellam: “Mr. Cellophane” from Chicago
  9. Sully: “Fight Song” by Rachel Platten
  10. Olivia: “Teenage Dream” by Katy Perry
  11. Cynthia: “There Won’t Be Trumpets” from Anyone Can Whistle
  12. Virion: “Truly Madly Deeply” by Savage Garden
  13. Henry: “Dentist!” from Little Shop of Horrors
  14. Maribelle: “Best Friend’s Brother” by Victoria Justice
  15. Robin: “Demons” by Imagine Dragons

Basically, I chose songs that either reflected a character’s personality or described their situation in the story. Some of these fit better than others, I think, but I had fun curating it. Oh, and I almost forgot…Puccini’s Chronicles has hit 70 followers! I couldn’t leave this milestone unacknowledged. Huge thanks from the bottom of my heart go out to all of you; writing for my cyber-devotees is something that really helps me grow.

Leave a Reply

