SPICEWORLD Appreciation Post

Oh, how the childhood feels flood every cell of my body.

a86d6a3a8da68b325d4a55466f5250de9f6c0f90

I know what you’re all thinking. “It’s crap!” “The Spice Girls sucked!” “Is she kidding me with that fluff?!” But that’s okay. Imma block out all you haters. Because this album defined me between the ages of 5 and 8. The Spice Girls were to me what One Direction is to most pre-tweens of today. Back then (wow I feel old), I only had cassette tapes, and I listened to the Spiceworld one religiously. I can still hear every track in my head. There wasn’t a bad piece of fluff to be found.

Oh, my fandom went far beyond the music. I had Spice Girls action figures. I bought bubblegum lollipops simply because their pictures were inside the wrappers. I watched the movie of this album, widely considered one of the worst flicks ever made, several times a week. Posh Spice (Victoria Beckham) was always my favorite, but I really liked Sporty Spice (Melanie Chisholm) too. Looking back and rehearing songs as an adult, I especially have an appreciation for Melanie/Sporty’s gorgeous harmonies and token descant. My favorite example of this (and probably my favorite Spice Girls song overall) appears in the ballad “Too Much.”

But the thing is, you can never have too much of something that reminds you of a simpler time. No matter how much my taste in music has grown, nothing can replace the love I have for the sound of Spiceworld. Is it Stephen Sondheim greatness? No way. But does it make me feel super happy? Oh hail to the yeah. And I think that’s ultimately what propels it to “artistic viability.” It’s meant to be feel-good music, the kind that you gotta dance to…and it’s got plenty of that energy. Many years after the fact, actually, I found this album at a yard sale- as a CD! Needless to say, it is now part of my music library. And a proud part, at that.

I really have zero shame that I always “shake it to the right” when “Spice Up Your Life” plays on my iPad.

Leave a Reply

