Writing

“The Girl Who Never Left”

by Amanda DeLalla

The girl who never left…

At last, I understand.

She is no longer of this world.

But her specter remains on this land.

The girl who never left…

I didn’t want to open a scar,

But it’s a part of who you are.

I don’t even know her name.

But I know who, for her death, you blame.

The girl who never left…

And now I finally realize

You see too much of her when you look into my eyes.

For that, I so apologize.

I never truly believed it till now-

That ending your life only transfers the pain somehow.

But now proof stands before me, it is so real

And I just want to hold you until you heal.

I cry for you, I cry for me, I cry for us- bereft…

In the wake of that girl who never really left.

tumblr_n03hb95efe1qbwhzlo4_250

If you, or someone you care about, has suicide on their mind: call 1800-273-8255 or otherwise seek help NOW!

Leave a Reply

