Daily Prompt: Candle (Flashback Friday)

It was like something out of a movie.

We were coworkers, you and I, at an enormous theatrical venue. I’d been there for a few months- you, a few years. Although I loved working there, it was only a part-time job, and I was always hunting for full-time work. Then, finally, at the end of June, the phone call came that I’d been hired. This was also around the time that you and I began to date.

A week before I was set to begin my new job, I received tickets to the New York Spectacular at Radio City Music Hall.

rain_3

You’d already seen it, so I took my friend Jacqueline. But we had made plans to get together after Jacqueline returned to Staten Island. The show was wonderful from start to finish; as the Rockettes danced around the electrifying lights of “Welcome to New York,” I teared up. Partly with pride at my city, partly with sadness that a new chapter of my life was starting. “What a way to close out my time at this job,” I thought. (Pictured is my favorite number in the Spectacular, “Singin’ in the Rain.”)

And interestingly enough, as Jacqueline boarded her bus, it began to drizzle again. I ran back to Radio City to find you. We hitched a ride on a taxi back to your apartment, holding hands on the way, the candlelight of our hearts flickering in the dark.

I was going to tell you some thrilling news here, my readers, but I think that deserves its own post. So for now, here is a teaser: it involves me, Sondheim, and a one-woman show. Blessings on you all…happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

